top of page

"The Summer of Lost Letters" (Golden Doors #1) by Hannah Reynolds [Review]

I enjoy teen/young adult romance stories, and I’ve never been to Nantucket. So, I thought I should pick up this book and read it.


When a package of letters arrives from her recently late grandmother’s nursing home, Jewish Abby discovers her O’ma hid a long romance that took place in her teen years after escaping Europe during World War II. So, Abby finds herself a summer job in Nantucket, home of the mystery letter writer, and begins her investigations. Almost immediately, she meets Noah, the grandson of the letter writer. Together, they try to discover the mystery of O’ma’s past—which includes a missing necklace. But can Abby and Noah deny the spark between the two of them, and is Noah really trying to help?


Reading the book gave me a kind of whimsical feeling. I found myself not only rooting for Noah and Abby’s growing romance but also wanting to explore the mystery of O’ma’s past and visit the main setting in the book, Noah’s family’s house called “Golden Doors”. Also, the other places on Nantucket were visually descriptive, like the house Abby was staying at, and the beaches. I also liked the conclusion of Ellie Mae, the dog of the owner of the house where Abby was staying.


I didn’t really enjoy Noah’s indecisiveness about helping Abby if it didn’t hurt his family. I understand family was very important to him, but it made me keep questioning if he was really trying to help Abby or just steer her away.


All in all, this book was a good light read about a past and present romance that never took itself too seriously. This works great as a series opener and a standalone. Good for a summer teen romance and part mystery story.

Commentaires


bottom of page