top of page

"The Christmas Clash" by Suzanne Park [Review]

I got an advanced copy of this book when I met the author at the LA Times Festival books earlier this year, and I received an advanced audiobook from NetGalley. Thanks to both Suzanne Park and NetGalley.


Chloe can't stand Peter, and their families can't stand each other either: their parents operate rival restaurants in the Riverwood Mall food court in Tennessee (Chloe's family makes Korean food while Li's restaurant is Chinese). Now, it's the holiday season, and Chloe works as an Elf photographer for Santa while Peter works at a virtual reality North Pole experience nearby. When they learn the mall is being demolished after the start of the new year, they must join forces to stop the impending closure of their second home.

I liked the idea of Peter and Chloe being from rival families and having to come together to save their mall at Christmastime, so that is what first drew me to the book. I also loved how their romance went at a natural pace and didn't feel rushed (I don't like rushed romances). It was a great enjoyment to also hear the audiobooks told in two different voices as well as see alternating chapters between the two leads.

If I had to point out something I didn't like about the book, it would be the lightly sprinkled use of cuss words. It wasn't heavy, but I'm not a fan of cursing.

This book is a light-hearted young adult Romance rivals-turned-lovers-unite kind of story vibe, a perfect holiday read for young adult readers.

bottom of page