top of page

"The Charmed List" by Julie Abe [Review]

The thing that first drew me to the book was it's like Jenny Han meets Sabrina the Teenage Witch. Well, that, and the synopsis. I got an advanced copy from NetGalley for an honest review.


Quiet girl Ellie, who grew up in a family that uses magic, wants to have a life-changing summer, starting with her Anti-Wallflower List. She's looking forward to it, especially an epic road trip with her best friend, Lia (non-magic aware). But when number 4 off her list goes horribly wrong--get revenge on her childhood friend-turned-enemy Jack, she must go to a magical convention with him instead as Lia refuses to talk to her. But as they drive down the coast of California, she might fall in love without realizing it.


I like the childhood-friends-turned-enemies-to-lovers trope. Ellie's irritation towards Jack maybe you want to read the book even more. And a trip from NorCal (Northern California) to SoCal (Southern California) with a twist of magic? Yes, please. I really LOVED the little bits of magic they did, without it being very heavy and unbelievable, especially the stopover and the magical town and the stopped in the cabin off the grapevine.


I don't think there's anything about it that I really can say stood out for me as an I don't like. All the characters were enjoyable, and everything seemed to fit together. Even Jack's angry father.


If you're fans of Jenny Han, the above-mentioned trope, Charmed, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, or teen romance, get this book.

bottom of page