top of page

"The Best Kind of Magic" by Crystal Cestari [Review]

At first, this didn’t seem like it’d be my kind of book, but when I saw that I had free access to the audible audiobook of this, I decided to give it a try. And I’m glad I did.

Amber comes from a long line of witches, but she’s not a witch. She did get a magical talent, though. As a matchmaker, she can see anyone’s soul mate. But she’s low on the sorcery food chain. She works at her mom’s magic shop—Windy City Magic. When Charlie, the mayor’s son, and most-desired boy, comes to find his dad’s missing girlfriend, she helps him. As she starts to fall for him, she sees that his soulmate is not her. How can she pursue a boy she knows isn’t her match?

I can't remember why this didn't seem like my kind of book. After I started reading it, I felt like I couldn't put it down. I have the usual cast of characters associated with high school, and I liked how Amber could link them to a magical lineage back in their ancestry. Her Nemesis was a siren who was used to using her power to get boys to fall for her. How cool is that?


I am glad this book is the start of a trilogy. I can't really think of any parts of the book I didn't like, though I would have liked to know more about Amber's father and why he was absent from her life.

All in all, I have to say this was a great start to a wonderful series. If you are an audible member and have access to the plus catalog, I would definitely suggest adding this series to your list of downloaded audiobooks. A wonderful young adult fantasy romance book.

bottom of page