top of page

"Sunkissed" by Kasie West [Review]


I picked up the book because of the plot in the back AND of course the author, Kasie West. I was hoping she'd write a great camp story, and boy did this one deliver.


Avery and her family leave LA and go for two months to a remote resort in the California woods. Her little sister Lauren, a video blogger, is disgusted that the camp doesn't have WiFi. Avery herself is leaving a drama leftover from catching her best friend kissing her ex-boyfriend. Brooks, a teen staffer at the camp, helps her step out of her comfort zone in exchange for writing lyrics for his band's songs. But a budding romance might be hard for the two of them to fight against.


Believe it or not, there was a trio of names in the book that I was surprised she used because two of my friends' names were in the book, as well as my own real name. Anyway, back to the book. I loved pretty much everything about the book and every character. It didn't feel forced or rushed.


My favorite characters in the book were Avery and Brooks. I really liked Lauren as a side character. She was exactly the kind of little sister I picture that most people have. Not an instant-best-friend, and not an I-don't-get-along-with-you, but somewhere in the middle. That's a realistic siblinghood.


The only character I didn't like (didn't like a little bit) was Shay. She did wrong, and her best friend needed time. Let her have time. Don't...wait, no spoilers. Sorry, almost lost myself there.


Anyway, this is a great camp romance story. Fans of Kasie West, come on, what are you waiting for? Add this to your collection. Fans of camp teen romances, this is good for you too.

bottom of page