top of page

"Seoulmates" by Susan Lee [Review]

I liked the setting, San Diego, and two friends reconnecting with a to-do list. That’s why I requested an eARC from NetGalley. Thanks, NetGalley!


Hannah has the next year planned out, starting with the perfect summer. But then her boyfriend Nate dumps her, claiming they have nothing in common. Their friends are newly obsessed with K-pop and K-dramas, while Hannah is not. After years of shunning her Korean side, that's why she finds herself on the outs. Then her former best friend, K-drama star Jacob, returns to San Diego, desperate for a break from the fame. Hannah then gets roped into helping him complete his summer to-do list, and their feelings may rekindle.


Just like Hannah, I am not into K-pop and K-dramas, but I’m not Korean. I do like how they start off with Hannah not liking Jacob at first, but him wanting to reconnect with her. I enjoyed the book, and it even had me guessing what was going to happen. The story didn’t feel rushed, but natural.


The only part of the book I didn’t like was the annoying ‘K-drama workers’, like the girl who played the opposite of Jacob’s character, and the ones that wanted him back in Korea before his summer was over. The pressure he was under…man, it was real but intense.


Even if you’re not a fan of K-pop and K-dramas, you’ll enjoy this book. It’s a lighthearted romance that doesn’t take itself too seriously and is a pleasure to read.

bottom of page