top of page

"Rivals" (American Royals) by Katharine McGee [Review]

After reading the first two books, plus the Prequel, I just had to continue the series. Thanks, NetGalley!

The third book in the series takes place after the ending of ‘Majesty’. Beatrice is queen, but her wedding to Teddy has been put on hold. With an upcoming meeting of Kings and Queens from around the world, she meets up with Princess Louise, representing France, and forms a friendship with her. But can she be trusted? Meanwhile, Samantha’s in love with Lord Marshall, but how will his family take to him dating her? Meanwhile, Nina and Daphne form an unlikely alliance in order to take down the manipulative Lady Gabriella, who has her sights set on Jefferson. Will their old rivalries stand in their way?


I am a fan of the American Royals series and I like how each chapter tells about one of the four main characters: Queen Beatrice, Princess Samantha, status chaser Daphne, and commoner Nina. I liked that Daphne and Nina banded together to take down a common enemy. I love the moments where we can see how the characters would be in our world where America doesn't have a royal family.


I didn't like Gabriella, but the character was written well. I liked Louise and all the side characters. There wasn't really anything I didn't enjoy about the book.


American Royals fans, this book is a must on your list. There is some romance in it and characters you'll be rooting for to get together and to separate. Pick this one up.

bottom of page