top of page

"Our Way Back to Always" by Nina Moreno [Review]

I loved the author’s prior work, “Don’t Date Rosa Santos” and the breezy, Florida-y feeling of it, so I decided to read this too.

Luisa (Lou) grew up across the street from Sam in the small town of Port Coral, Florida. They used to be inseparable, but then middle school happened and they haven’t talked since. With her older sister having given up a scholarship to Princeton to have a baby and work at the local botanica, all of Lou’s parents’ expectations are riding on her shoulders. Meanwhile, Sam and his sister, grandmother, and mother are still grieving the loss of Sam’s father. But when Lou finds a bucket list she and Sam wrote, they set out to complete it before high school graduation. Can they complete the list and rekindle their friendship…and will it be something more?

Even though the feeling I got from the book, as I have listed before, was the same, the story was different. I loved how the author also brought Rosa from her previous book into the story. But you don't have to read the author's first book to understand the story, but this book might make you want to if you haven't already.


Although I enjoyed the little peaks in their past, I would prefer to see more of them. Maybe, I would also like to see the scene that broke their friendship. Perhaps that was part of a deleted scene from the book.

All in all, if you like breezy, second-chance romances for teens, you'll like this book.

bottom of page