top of page

"Mere Mortals" by Erin Jade Lange [Review]

I’ve read some vampire books, but I’ve never read a book about vampires becoming mortal, so I thought I’d give this one a read.


Charlotte (Charlie) and her brother Reginald (Reg) have been vampires for a century. But after one careless mistake, they’ve been expelled and dumped into Nowhere, Iowa, to live as mortals. They must deal with high school. But things start to change when they find a group of friends, including good-looking Dexter. When they’re offered a second shot at being vampires, Charlie learns it’ll mean total betrayal of all her new friends, who won’t remember her. Can she handle that if it means living forever?


The concept, as I have said before, was interesting. I couldn’t pick between the two what was my favorite main character, and I liked all the side characters: Sal, Lina, the twins, the heartthrobs to the new mortals…everyone. I didn’t like the elder vampires much, but I guess that was to be expected.


There are only two things I didn’t like about the book: the heartbreaking ending (no spoilers) and the tone of the original audiobook I received. The tone was all wrong, and originally I felt like I wanted to put the book in the pile I reserve for those books that look interesting at first but are not. Once I received a second version of the audiobook, I was better able to stay focused and follow along with it.


This book is not a romance young adult book, but more of a finding yourself one. It does have some romance in it, and the paranormal fantasy is enough to keep readers entertained. So I would still pick this one up for a good fantasy young adult book to read. Hope there’s a sequel to it, to learn more about what happens a year or two later.

bottom of page