top of page

"Meet Claudie" (American Girl Historical Characters) by Brit Bennett [Review]

I’m a fan of some of the American Girl historical stories, so I decided to get a copy of this one and give it a read.


In 1922 Harlem, New York, Claudie believes everyone has a talent except her. She’s surrounded by painters, actors, dancers, singers, and musicians. When an eviction notice threatens her family, friends, and the beloved boardinghouse they share, she has an idea that might save the day.


I don't know much about this time period, but I did enjoy Claudie's insight. The time era after the Great War, also known as World War I, was a mystery to me until this book.


I can't really say there's anything I didn't enjoy about the book. It was your typical American Girl book, with nothing to stand out-ish or exciting about it, but it's still one worth reading.

bottom of page