top of page

"Lumara" by Melissa Landers [Review]

I have read some of the author's prior work, so I thought I'd give this one a read. After reading the first few chapters, I was instantly hooked.


Talia seems to have it all: valedictorian at her boarding high school with a rich, handsome boyfriend. But due to her life-threatening congenital heart problem, her life may be cut short. A year ago, she used every penny she saved to attend Mystic Con, to have a private audience with a mighty Mystic (magic user), to heal her. He doesn't, and the experience has made her sour on Mystics. Currently, her boyfriend Nate wants to bring her home to meet his family for his cousin Julie's wedding. However, there's a dramatic reveal: he's a Mystic. She ends up going to his family's private island, the only place Nate's able to do magic. While there, Talia had visions and is the only one who can see a beautiful teen boy. Then at the wedding, the entire wedding party falls into comas, and Talia is the suspect. Can she solve the mysteries and clear her name?


I have to be honest: I fell in love with Nate. He was the Ideal boyfriend: sweet, understanding, caring, and passionate. He was, hands down, my favorite character. I also enjoyed Talia, trying to and eventually solving the mysteries of Lamara (the island) with her. And the island was beautifully described.


Talia's father was the only character, or "part" of the book I didn't like. He says one thing and then does or means the opposite. I can't give an example without spoilers.


All in all, if you like romance, mysteries, and magic, pick up this book. It's a terrific read that won't disappoint.

bottom of page