top of page

"Lola at Last" by by J.C. Peterson [Review]

I liked that a sheltered girl learns to like hiking, so that’s why I picked up this book. Thanks, Edelweiss Plus for an eARC of it.


Fresh off a return from France after hiding out from a scandal that tanked her social status, Lola has managed to alienate her twin sister, lose her friends, and set a boat on fire. She's given an ultimatum: jail time, or spend the summer with the nonprofit Hike Like a Girl. Everyone seems to expect her to fail. But as the summer progresses, she finds what she's been missing: unexpected friends, romance, and a strength she didn't know she had.


I liked the Hike Like a Girl program even before I got to that part of the book. And it was easy to tell early on that Lola wasn’t true to herself with the friends she had. I also liked Kat and the other family members. I could really see Lola’s growth throughout the book.


I can’t say there’s something I didn’t really like about the book. I enjoyed everything about it, though I wish her mom had been more supportive of her daughter’s new passion.


This book is a good discover-yourself, nature-hiking book with a little bit of romance thrown into it. If I had the time to, I’d definitely read this again.

bottom of page