top of page

"Last Chance Books" by Kelsey Rodkey [Review]

A romance in a bookstore sounded like a good book to read, so I decided to give this one a try. Thanks, NetGalley, for an advanced copy!


Maddie has grown up with her aunt, half-brother, and his father after her unknown father left her and her mother went out to California from Pennsylvania to follow her dreams. Now, the summer before college, her mother suddenly returns, and a rival bookstore opens across the street from her beloved bookstore, which is closing at the end of summer (much to her dismay). Jasper, the son of the owners of Prologue, gets in a prank war with her. But will the prank war lead to romantic feelings?


I loved Maddie and how Jasper was her enemies-to-maybe-lovers. I enjoyed not only the scenes in the bookstores but the scenes around the town. I can't point out one thing beyond that I truly enjoyed.


For me, there were some parts I didn't like. Let's just say, parts that you should be an older teen to read were in the book, so caution when you start to read them.


Overall, it was a satisfying teen bookstore romance read.

bottom of page