top of page

"It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story" by Lauren Morrill [Review]


I was fortunate enough to get an advanced copy of this book by participating in the Xpresso Tours Tour of this book. And this is my 4th book by the author ("Being Sloane Jacobs", "My Unscripted Life", and "Better Than The Best Plan" being the other 3) that I've read.


This story's main character is Beck Brix. She has minor fame after her mother gave birth to her at a local pizzeria called "Hot 'N Crusty"; free pizza for life, and a job she can't turn down when she turns 16. For years, Beck has tried to keep her Hot 'N Crusty life separate from her real life. But when she gets a job there, how much longer can she separate herself from the pizzeria?


Before I even knew the title of this book, I put it on my To-Be-Read list back in September of 2019. I am a fan of the author's book, and this one is no exception.


Even though I enjoyed this book, I didn't really understand Beck's reason for wanting to keep her two lives separate. But I did enjoy seeing her warm and open up to accepting the other coworkers at Hot 'N Crusty. And I loved it when her two worlds came together, even if she didn't enjoy it at the time. And I enjoyed reading the scenes that took place at the pizzeria. I don't think the story would have worked well at a burger joint, taco restaurant, or any other setting but a pizzeria.


For fans of Lauren Morrill, or cheesy romances (pun intended), this is one you cannot miss. Another good one for Lauren Morrill.

bottom of page