top of page

"How to Quit Your Crush" by Amy Fellner Dominy [Review]

The title grabbed me right away, as did the synopsis. Worst dates to try and quit having a crush? Yes, please. Thanks, NetGalley.


Mai knows Anthony isn't good for her, even if she has a crush on him. She's valedictorian, he's a surf bum. She's a planner, he makes sculptures. Good thing he's got the perfect plan: two weeks to prove they're not good together. Whoever can come up with the worst date wins? His idea: taking Snake-phobia Mai to the Reptile House. Her idea: a cooking class where they don't get to eat the food. It's meant to help them crush their crushes. But it wasn't supposed to be so hot. Or so fun. And when Mai's future becomes at stake, will she be able to do the right thing and quit Anthony forever?


I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did, but I really enjoyed the dates (which were the best part of the book). The title is perfect for this. I could see why Mai and Anthony were attracted to each other, and why they had a hard time trying to, literally, quit their crush. Everything about the book, from the characters to the scenery and the synopsis was great.


I would have liked to see more of their past, though, before the setting of the book. That’s the only part I would’ve added…peeks into the past. Like how they first met. It felt like I was jumping in the middle of something and wished I had the whole story.


All in all, this was a good light read, one that is surprisingly enjoyable. For fans of teen romance and will-they-or-won’t-they couples.

bottom of page