top of page

"Hot Dutch Daydream" by Kristy Boyce (Review)

I read “Hot British Boyfriend”, the author’s prior work, and even though this technically wasn’t a sequel but a companion book, I decided to give it a read. I’ve read a lot of travel-romance books, but never one based in Amsterdam. Thanks, NetGalley and HarperTeen for an eARC of the book. I really enjoyed it.


Sage is not easily distracted. She has a plan, and she won’t be swayed. She’ll spend the summer interning in her mentor’s lab in Amsterdam, and then she’ll be ready for college. All she needs to do to pay for the summer is agree to serve as the au pair for Dr. Reese’s three-year-old. But she doesn’t anticipate the surprise arrival of Dr. Reese’s teenage son: Ryland. He’s a spontaneous, flirt, and impulsive—everything Sage isn’t. He’s a talented artist, but he needs someone to keep him focused. And as nannying proves harder than she expected, it turns out she might need help too. The two strike a deal: Sage will stop Ryland from going out with a different girl every day, and he’ll pitch in with his little brother. Spending the summer stuck together is the perfect way to keep distractions to a minimum, right?


I enjoyed Sage as a side character in the prior book and loved that she was getting her own companion book. This book helped flush out her character, and have the reader understand why she felt a little stuck-up/serious in ‘Hot British Boyfriend’. It was good to see Ryland help her loosen up a little bit. I also enjoyed him and loved the artwork shirts he made. I would’ve loved him to make one for me.


I would’ve loved to see more of Amsterdam, but I enjoyed what the book showed us. I did want to find out what happened to the main characters after the summer, like a little Epilogue or short story. But it was still a good book.


Fans of ‘Hot British Boyfriend’, travel romances, and ones that like learning more about a side character should get this book. If you haven’t read the prior book before reading this book, you’ll want to read it when you’re done with this.

bottom of page