top of page

"Heartbreakers and Fakers" by Cameron Lund [Review]


The first thing that drew me to the book is 'For fans of Tweet Cute and The Rest of the Story', which are my favorite 2019/2020 books, so I had to pick this one up. Penny wakes up in front of her boyfriend's house the morning after the kick-off-to-summer party. She later finds out she drunkenly made out with Kai, her enemy and best friend Olivia's boyfriend. She and Kai then pretend to date in order to get Olivia and Penny's boyfriend Jordan back. They even stage a breakup during the senior class trip to Disneyland, but soon...are their feelings really fake as they think? Even though it starts off the morning of the aftermath of Penny's mistake, I really liked her as the main character. As the book went on, I started not to like Olivia, and I was like, wanting to shake her and ask her "why are you trying to get back in her good graces?" But, of course, it took a while for her to come to her senses and start being her true self, but the journey was good. Again, nothing forced or rushed, and I love the sprinkle of flashbacks to Junior Year...even the night before the start of the book. It works better with those flashbacks to Junior Year and helps us understand Penny more. I think the cussing (not a big fan of it) is the only reason I gave this book not a 5-star rating. Other than that, it was good. Definitely worth the extra cash to buy it personally signed.



bottom of page