top of page

"French Kissing In New York" by by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau [Review]

I enjoyed the author's prior work, "Kisses and Croissants", so I was excited for another taste of a French story. I requested this book from NetGalley and was thrilled when I got accepted. Thanks, NetGalley and Random House, for an advanced copy of this book.


Margot meets Zach in Paris, a few hours away from where she lives. They plan to meet a year later in New York in Time Square at a certain time. When the time comes, Margot's new job gets in the way and she ends up being late for the meeting. With a strong desire to find Zach, she enlists the help of a friendly coworker, Ben, to not only help find Zach but to explore New York as well. Although, as Ben helps her, she starts developing feelings for him. Is Zach the right one for her after all?


I loved the first book by the author about an American girl exploring Paris. It is nice to see her flip the script and send a girl who has lived in France most of her life to America. And to New York of all places? The story wouldn't have worked if it had been placed anywhere else in America. And the characters were unique as well, and some were a little similar, but that's what makes them great. Some characters you didn't like, but you grew to enjoy.


I could tell early in the book what would happen in terms of Margot's love life (no spoilers here). But even if you can predict the ending, this book is more about going on the journey. I loved that in one of the early chapters, she asked, "Who eats eggs for breakfast?" Because I was listening to the audiobook, I felt someone was asking me, and raised my hand. And it felt like she responded, "I know."


There wasn't much I disliked about the book. I added it to my favorites list.


For fans of "Kisses and Croissants", travel romances, and New York, or French romances, will they or won't they couples, you should pick up this book to read.


bottom of page