top of page

"Float" by Kate Marchant [Review]

I requested an eARC of this book because it was a summer beach read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. I even got a physical copy and took it to a festival to meet and have the author sign it.


Waverly is sent from Alaska to Florida to stay with her aunt while caught in the middle of her parents' divorce. She doesn't even know how to swim. The neighbor's teen soon next door, Blake, teaches get while going through his own personal issues. He introduces her, reluctantly, to his friends and for the first time, Waverly has a social life, and even feelings for Blake. Will she have to give it all up at the end of summer?


I loved the setting. I even asked the author if the town was real, but it was fictional. The characters felt real, Waverly's attraction to Blake (and vice versa) wasn't hurried or rushed. As they slowly got to know each other, they started to like one another. I even liked how a character went from frightened enemy to friend.


I can't really point out anything I particularly didn't like about the book. It was really enjoyable and I wish there would be a short novella that lets us readers see what happens to Waverly after the summer is over.


For fans of beach reads, Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and finding yourself romance stories, pick this one up. You won't be disappointed.

bottom of page