top of page

"Daring the Bad Boy" (Endless Summer) by Monica Murphy [Review]


I picked this book up because I thought it was a good camp teen story.


Shy Annie goes to summer camp and wants to reinvent herself. A few days in and she's already set her sights on Kyle. Too bad her fear of water keeps her from the lake where he hangs out. Meanwhile, Jake is sent to work as a counselor at his uncle's camp after one too many screwups. His uncle has a rule: no fraternizing with campers. A night of Truth or Dare gets him roped into teaching Annie how to swim. They start to fall for each other.


I liked the duo narrative of the story. I'm a girl, so I don't really understand a guy's point of view of things, so I loved hearing Jake's point of view of this story. I liked that the character felt real and the story wasn't rushed. The setting...it's a camp I would want to attend.


The only thing I'd have to say I didn't like was the cuss words, but that's just a personal preference.


All in all, this was a GREAT camp story teen romance, one DEFINITELY worth reading. And it's even better with the audiobook.

bottom of page