top of page

"Christmas As We Know It" by Sarah Sutton [Review]

I had read ‘If the Broom Fits’ by this author before and I decided to give this book a try. I like cute little YA Holiday Romances.

Mimi lives for Christmas, so when her single mom tells her that their family, including younger sister Lexi (she and Mimi don’t get along) they’re going to Florida for winter break to visit their grandmother…let’s just say Mimi isn’t thrilled. This is the last Christmas before she and her friends go off to college. However, she’s been crushing on the sweet Bentley for years and is in the volunteer group with him for the annual Winter Festival. Her best friend since elementary school, Jason, is a Grinch to her Mrs. Claus. But the closer she gets to Bentley, the more it looks like Jason will get back with his ex, and she’s not sure who she likes.


I enjoy light Christmas stories and understood why Mimi didn't want to go to Florida. But I felt she was too quick to jump to conclusions when it came to why Jason's ex. She just made assumptions and half of the time it was wrong.


I didn't like she made most of her assumptions without any proof to back up her claim. Still, it was a light winter Christmas story, but I wouldn't call it a wonderland.


This is a light-hearted Christmas romance for young adults. It's worth reading and adding to your list.

bottom of page