top of page

"Blame It On the Mistletoe" by Beth Garrod [[Review]


I'm a fan of "The Holiday" movie and Emma Lord's debut book "Tweet Cute", and Christmas is my favorite holiday, so I decided to give this book a go.

British, Christmas loving Holly gets rejected yet again from her ex-boyfriend/neighbor, and her older sister is coming home the day after Christmas from tropical travels, along with her mother announcing the sale of their house to move in with her boyfriend and his twins. New Jersey resident Elle accepts a challenge from a social media influencer to try to gain 15,000 followers on her social media account. She ends up swapping lives with Holly for a week in an effort to complete the challenge. Naturally, romance ensues.

I loved the difference in narration between Holly and Elle. I'm American myself, so I don't know any British Christmas traditions. The author does a great job of including them.

I did feel like the side characters should be given a chance to stand out more. Not just the male love interests, but Ruby, her potential girlfriend, and the others.

The only character I didn't really like was Woody. He felt like a jerk from the beginning.

This is a festive, light, quirky read that will entertain fans of the above said movie and teen romances.


bottom of page