top of page

"A Show for Two" by Tashie Bhuiyan [Review]

I heard so much about this book from book sites and social media platforms that I had to give it a read. And I love falling-for-city books, like Susane Colasanti’s “City of Love” trilogy. Thanks, NetGalley and Inkyard Press!


Mina wants to get out of New York and away from her parents, and her passion for films is the way to do it. When she finds out indie film star Emmitt has enrolled in her high school under a secret identity to research for his next role, she makes a deal with him: he’ll be in her short film if she can be a tour guide and help him with his photography contest. As she shows him around, she starts to fall in love…not just with Emmitt, but with the city she wants to leave so badly too. Is winning worth losing everything?


I love romance in Young Adult books and not just a romance between two people, but someone falling in love with a city because then it shows the readers what there is to love about the city stated. I’ve personally only been to New York City once, but I couldn’t explore it the way that Mina shows Emmitt. I loved her friends and the diverse cast of characters.


I think Mina’s parents are the only characters I didn’t like. I didn’t like how they pushed their own dreams for their daughters onto Mina and her sister, and always seemed to act like they were the victim in every argument they had with Mina. I’m glad the conclusion was how it was.


This is a good city-love/budding romance book, good for fans of teen romance and city love books.

bottom of page