top of page

"The Invention of Sophie Carter" by Samantha Hastings [Review]

I not only won this book in a giveaway, but I am participating in the Xpresso Book Tour.

I loved the plot of the story before even reading the book. It's 1851, and a pair of orphaned identical twin girls (inventor Sophie and artist Mariah) go for a season to stay with their estranged Aunt. The catch is she will only house one of them. But the girls chance it and both go, both pretending to be Sophie. They both discover their passions through the course of the story, and also find love with two different men.

Even though they looked identical, the girls were vastly different from the other. Sophie felt like a modern woman, ahead of her time. Mariah felt slightly timid, but loved painting and reading books written by female authors.

I found myself enjoying the side characters, especially Ethan (one of the male leads). I loved when he met the other sister that he did NOT fall for and... (whoops, no spoilers. Just trust me on this. It was a good part). I liked Mrs. Spooner and found myself disliking some of the bad (in personality) characters right along with Sophie.

This is truly a wonderful Victorian (I think that's the era) English romance. I am glad I got to read this book.

Link to Giveaway: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251233759/

You can purchase the book here: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-invention-of-sophie-carter-samantha-hastings/1132278939

bottom of page