top of page

"She's the Worst" by Lauren Spieller [Review]

I had read the author's debut book, "Your Destination Is On the Left" and almost immediately after (maybe even before) finishing it, I looked up any other books she had coming out and immediately added this one to my list. I was thankfully able to get a sneak at the first couple of chapters before getting a physical advanced copy at YallWest.

If you are a fan of "Your Destination Is On the Left", then you should definitely pick up this one. Even though this book is not a sequel to her prior one, it still has a sort of travel theme to it; in this one, the two female leads travel around Los Angeles as appose to a new town.

I enjoyed that April and Jenn's relationship and family life isn't perfect with the sisters not getting along how they used to and their parent's constant bickering. I loved traveling with them around their town. The only things I didn't like about the book were the cuss words and the parents' selfishness, but the book was still enjoyable.

I recommend this book if you're in the mood for some disfunction that's not your own, if you like books with some travel involved, a fan of the author (obviously), or even if you want to see the relationship between two out-of-touch-with-each-other sisters develop back (hopefully) to what it was before.

bottom of page