top of page

"The Moon and More" by Sarah Dessen [Review]

This is the 2nd Sarah Dessen book I've read. I love beach town stories, so that's part of what drew me to this Young Adult book.

It's the summer of change for a newly-high-school graduate Emaline; some of the changes including her estranged biological father bringing down her half-brother for the summer, and meeting new people (like high-strung filmmaker Ivy and her city boy assistant Theo who are in town making a documentary about a local artist, Clyde).

I really enjoyed this book and felt like I was on a journey with Emaline through her town of Colby. The rich descriptions of the town made me want to visit the city, including the Real Estate company run by Emaline and her family (her mom and grandma, adopted dad, and adopted stepsisters).

I felt like this story was really realistic, and felt just as confused about some of Emaline's relationships with high school boyfriend Luke and Theo as she was.

This is a cute, light beach read about a girl trying to find out who she is and what she wants before heading off to college (in terms of relationships).

bottom of page