top of page

"The Me I Meant To Be" by Sophie Jordan (Review)

I got an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley next change for a review.

What first drew me to this book is the two love stories in one concept. I liked the idea that Willa had to struggle with realizing she had feelings for her best friend's ex boyfriend; and that Flor was struggling between wanting her tutor or wanting to get back together with her ex.

Willa felt relatable. She struggled with not just her feelings, but how her relationship was with her older sister, Chloe, after she (Chloe) returned from breaking up with her husband with a daughter she struggle to raise, and her mom while her dad worked away from the family. I did kind of feel towards the end that her revelation for her feelings for Zach (the ex) was a little rushed because the book was coming to an end. I would have rather seen her resolve things with her best friend first. And her ending chapter felt like it was taken from an early 2000s movie.

I kept wondering why Flor wanted to get back together with Zach. But I could understand and see her growing attraction to Grayson. He was the guy I liked more out of the two. He was a mystery that needed to be explored further, I feel. I did feel bad for Flor when it came to her relationship with her parents. Mom barely talks to her, and Dad's more involved in his new relationship with a woman closer to her age. I've had divorced parents most of my life, so I know the feeling.

All in all, I would have preferred to see more of Flor and Willa's relationship with each other. Still, I feel the book was a cute little love story.

bottom of page