top of page

"Home for the Holidays" (Celebrate the Season) by Taylor Garland [Review]

This was a cute little Christmas story Middle Grade book. When I saw it and read about the plot, I knew I had to read it. Although it was a typical plot (girl in new town wonders if new town will ever feel like home, then it starts to feel like home), I still enjoyed it. Living in the USA, I'm also used to winter's being a bit on the chilly side. I'm not used to warm Christmases like they may have out in Florida (just like the main character Alyssa). Alyssa felt relatable, like she was the age she was, going through the struggles of moving from the Northeast to the Southeast. All the characters felt real too, even the quick-talking/quick-tempered Elle. I enjoyed reading about her struggles with her friends and the cat (struggles make the characters seem more relatable and real). This is a good book for anyone looking for a quick, light little Christmas/holiday story.

bottom of page