top of page

"The Wondrous World of Violet Barnaby" by Jenny Lundquist

To thank an author for following me on some of my social medias, I decided to read one of her books to review and picked up this one at the library.

It's a sequel to a previous book she's written (though I didn't read that one). It's about a girl who's celebrating Christmas for the first time with her new stepfamily, and finds a Christmas to-do list that her late mother wrote to her (and her dad forgot to give her the previous year; the first Christmas without her mom).

The story seemed realistic. Violet at first felt closed off (and I saw why) from her new family. I enjoyed the Charm Girls club and the Christmas things she got to do (my favorite was sleeping under a Christmas tree). The story did give off a Christmasy vibe that I loved. Genre I'd call this book is middle grade Christmas. If you like middle grade, help characters move on from a death of a loved one, or Christmas books, you won't be disappointed with this one.

bottom of page