top of page

"Stay Sweet" by Siobhan Vivian (Review)

Ice cream, summer, feminism, and a budding romance? What more could a girl ask for in a book like this?

I loved the plot about a girl who struggles slightly to keep Sand Lake's 73-year standing ice cream stand open after the owner passes. Main character Amelia felt real and relatable. Her struggles felt real, and I enjoyed going on this journey with her. She was my favorite character.

I loved the journal entries from Molly. Homefront World War 2 era is my favorite time in history, and reading the journal entries was like taking a mini trip back to that era. It was also as if I was reading 2 similar, yet different stories.

The male lead opposite of Amelia, Grady, felt a little like a privileged son of a rich man who was trying to find out if he wanted the path his father set out for him, or if he wanted to take a different path. And best friend Cate at times felt confident, and at others felt self-entitled.

Still, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

bottom of page