top of page

"The Distance From Me To You" by Marina Gessner [Review]

I finished reading this book 2 years ago, but because of another book I read recently, figured I should post this review.

I got this book for a Christmas present.

This book says its “Wild” meets “Endless Love”. I have never read either of those books, but still loved this one just the same.

McKenna wants to hike the Appalachian Trail the autumn/fall before she goes off to college, but because of her protective parents, she tries to get her best friend to go with her. But when her friend backs out, McKenna tries to go out on her own. While on the Trail, she meets Sam who has found a brief break from his life (abusive dad) on the trail. Like any contemporary teen romance book, they fall in love.

I felt sad about Sam’s life, but also loved the journey McKenna takes. Thanks to the author’s vivid descriptions of the surroundings on the Trail, I felt I was right there with McKenna, taking the same hike with all her up and downs. I was surprised by the ending (no spoilers here), but still it was a good one.

This book has a budding romance, a finding-yourself journey or two, and a great book to read if you’re just looking for an escape. If I was more physically and mentally fit, I’d want to take a hike like this.

bottom of page