top of page

"By Your Side" by Kasie West [Review]

What first drew me to the book was the plot: teen girl gets trapped with a teen boy with a questionable reputation at school in a library for a 3 day weekend that she didn't plan for. Being a book nerd myself, that was very intriguing: the idea of being stuck in a library. Although this library was nothing like I had ever seen (or volunteered at), the descriptions made it so vivid that I wanted to visit it.

I loved watching the blooming relationship develop between Autumn and Dax. I loved how she felt open enough to let him know things she hasn't even told her friends (no spoilers here).

I would have preferred more than just half the book being in the library. I would have also preferred that the end scene be the two of them returning to the library to kind of reminisce about what brought them together. Still, this book is a 4.5 out of 5; great for fans of teen contemporary romance or book nerds too.

bottom of page